Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Posted June 5, 2015 in review / 4 Comments

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on May 5th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, FairyTale-Retellings
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 432
Source: Purchased
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.

I don’t know if this review will even do this book justice, but I have to try. I have to admit that I got REALLY scared about reading this book because it’s by Sarah J. Maas. Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE her and her books. Throne of Glass is my most favorite series, and I totally wish I could gush to her about my love for Chaol one day, some day. But I got scared because I wanted ACOTAR to live up to my expectations. I wanted it to be as good as Throne of Glass, such that it blew my mind away. And I have seen both good and bad reviews for this book. Honestly, I actually read the bad reviews, because I wanna know what it is that could actually disappoint me. But it’s Sarah J. Maas, and I should have known better than to be worried, because this book just blew my mind. Honestly, when I finished this book, I just stared wide-eyed into space HAHAH.

I have never really read much into Beauty and the Beast, because it didn’t really interest me. HAHAH. Nevertheless, I wanted to read this book, because if anyone can turn Beast into the sexy one, Sarah J. Maas can. 😉 So yes, this book is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Feyre. Tamlin. Lucien. Rhysand. Those were the characters that I so really love.
The storyline already got me intrigued since the very beginning, because REALLY, wolves and magic. My type of books HAHA. Throughout the whole book, the story did not seem draggy. Every sentence managed to capture my attention, and make me crave for more. There was sex in this book, and even though it wasn’t as hot and heavy as other books, it was still simple and to the point. It’s just there to show how passionate Feyre and Tamlin felt for each other. And I love the fact that Tamlin and Feyre were kind of cold with each other at the start. I would have been REALLY pissed if Feyre had given up the thought of escaping so easily, because that’s what Beauty did in the original Beauty and the Beast. And I’m not going to compare Celaena and Feyre because I feel that both are unique in their own ways.
Now, on to the males. I literally laughed when I realized that there is still Rhysand. I already had a HARD time choosing who to ship, between Tamlin and Lucien. Then, Sarah JUST had to put in Rhysand. HAHAHA. The guys are HOT, as you can expect. Add in the fact that they’re magical people and can turn into creatures, BOOM. SEX APPEAL MAX LEVEL.
Read it for the sexy guys, read it for the story. I don’t care what you do, if you haven’t read this book, YOU SHOULD. YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK AND SPAZZ WITH ME.
Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

4 Responses to “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge