Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Posted March 12, 2015 in review / 8 Comments

Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Published by Random House Children's Books on January 6th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Format: Paperback
Pages: 400
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

“The Fault In Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park”
Eek, no. They should not say that. This book is amazing as its own. Similar to The Fault In Our Stars but way better. JUST. WAY. BETTER.

Yes, this review has a gif, or maybe a few gifs, because I died, my heart died, I can’t do this can’t seem to find them words to write it all out.

Heck, I don’t even know if I can write this review properly. This might just be one of the best review or worst review that I’ve written.

Okay. *takes a deep breath* This book is about two completely different people. Violet and Theodore Finch. They both met on the ledge of the bell tower. What you need to know about Finch is that he is fascinated by death. Every single day, he would think to himself, “Is today the day to die?” He wasn’t particularly depressed, but he wasn’t alright either. As for Violet, she had everything. She was once okay, but when she lost her sister, okay no longer existed in her dictionary. When they both paired up for a school project, it seemed that Finch was saving Violet. With every places, with every time spent together, it’s only with Theodore Finch that Violet slowly starts being herself. Being better, stronger. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. And it’s only a matter of time.

GAAAAH.

No matter what I say, I can never be able to convey to you guys every emotions that was felt in this book. The tears, the laughter, the exhilirating moments. How do you put something in words, when all you have are feels? JUST. TOO. MUCH. FEELS. Somewhere in the middle of this book (or maybe the start), I fell in love with Theodore Finch. Sexay, crazy Theodore Finch. The guy who does the most spontaneous stuffs. The guy who doesn’t mind that he gets called “Theodore Freak” in school, because those moments made him feel alive. The guy who made someone else’s life much more better, even when his was slowly falling apart. You know that moment when you read about that particular character in the book and you’re like, “HIM. I LOVE HIM.” That’s Theodore Finch to me. I have never fallen for any of the other characters in any other book, as badly as I have fallen for him.

Theodore Finch is life. And death. And everything else.

All The Bright Places makes me wonder alot, about those people around me who wear smiles every single day. Which one of them are actually secretly suffocating under their smiles?

I know that I should probably say something about Violet, but I can’t. Because with Violet, there’s Theodore Finch.
And with that, I thank Jennifer Niven for writing this amazing book.

View Spoiler »
Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

8 Responses to “Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven”

  1. I have heard a lot of things about this book but I haven't gotten to read it, but I will. I have loved TFIOS and Eleanor and Park so I'm pretty sure I'll love it too. i'm give this a try.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge