Review: Between The Notes by Sharon Huss Roat

Posted June 27, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: Between The Notes by Sharon Huss RoatBetween the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat
Published by HarperCollins on June 16th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Format: eARC
Pages: 400
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

After Ivy is forced to move to "the wrong side of the tracks" due to economic hard times, she discovers that not everything—or everyone—is what they seem, even herself. Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will love this funny, poignant, and relatable story.
When Ivy Emerson's family loses their house—complete with her beloved piano—the fear of what's to come seizes her like a bad case of stage fright. Forced to give up her allowance, her cell phone, and the window seat in her lilac-colored bedroom, Ivy moves with her family from her affluent neighborhood to Lakeside, aka "the wrong side of the tracks." Hiding the truth from her friends—and the cute new guy in school, who may have secrets of his own—seems like a good idea at first. But when the bad-boy-next door threatens to ruin everything, Ivy's carefully crafted lies begin to unravel . . . and there is no way to stop them.
Once things get to the breaking point, Ivy turns to her music, some surprising new friends, and the trusting heart of her disabled little brother. And she may be surprised that not everyone is who she thought they were . . . including herself.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A book about a rich family having to downgrade and live in the wrong side of town? HELL YES. I was super excited for this book, and I’m not disappointed. I’ve always wanted to read a book with this story plot because I wanted to see the MC’s transition between being rich and arrogant, to humble. And this book did not fail me. Ivy was not really that spoiled, especially when her family was still living in the rich suburb, but it was quite obvious when they had to move to Lakeside, the horrible side of town. The poor side. Letting her best friend know that she became poor was already bad enough, so imagine telling every one of her uptight, rich friends. No can do, right? So, she really did not tell them. And that was what gave me mini panic attacks throughout the whole book, because REALLY I was honestly scared to feel the blow-up situation when everyone finally finds out about it.

The only reason why I gave this book a star less was because of her friends. The rich, spoiled girls. I hate those girls. And maybe that was the way the author wanted it to be, but I find it hilariously ridiculous that her group of friends are those that she secretly hates. I mean, ummmmm what? So, it wasn’t really that devastating when she loses those friends, because hello, they were already beyotches in the first place. I had hoped that there would be some true friends kind of story line in this book, but NAHHHHH.

It’s okay, though. Unfortunately, this book had a love triangle, that would make you love both guys. Because both guys were quite awesome, and I honestly had a hard time choosing, SIGH. But this book, everyone should read because it shows that people should not judge one another based on their income earned, and sometimes poor people aren’t bad, and rich people aren’t good.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge