Review: Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

Posted May 18, 2015 in review / 2 Comments

Review: Crimson Bound by Rosamund HodgeCrimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
Published by HarperCollins on May 5th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, FairyTale-Retellings
Format: eARC
Pages: 448
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

An exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood and the extravagant court of Versailles, from the author of Cruel Beauty. A doomed warrior and the king's most notorious bastard must join forces to defeat a dark evil in this gorgeously intricate fantasy—perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses.
When Rachelle was fifteen she was good—apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also reckless—straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat.
Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in a vain effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son Armand—the man she hates most—Rachelle forces Armand to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. Together, they navigate the opulent world of the courtly elite, where beauty and power reign and no one can be trusted. And as the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic . . . and a love that may be their undoing. Within a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

There was so much hype about this book, that I actually thought it was a companion novel to Cruel Beauty. But then, I realised that it was a standalone, so for those who have never read Cruel Beauty before, NEVER FEAR because you don’t have to. Although, I would encourage you to read Cruel Beauty, because after reading this book, I am utterly amazed by the author. I would gladly grab up any book that she wrote HAHA. I am always and have always been fascinated by authors who can create such an amazing and complicated background setting for the book. And this is one of those books. This story has a HINT of Red Riding Hood in it, especially at the start.

Rachelle had been told time and again that she was never allowed to stray from the path in the forest. But Rachelle had never listened to her aunt or anyone, and she learned in her life that she would rather go the hard way, than cower at the side. So when she strayed from the path in search of a way to save her world, she accidentally met a Forestbound and against her better judgment, she trusted him enough, and she was stuck to the very evil that she hoped to defeat.

Like I said, one of the reasons why I adored this book too much was because Rosamund created a whole new world that I kinda wish existed, despite the whole Devourer thing HAHA. It seemed surreal, you know. These kinds of books make me want to jump inside it and live in it HAHA. But yeah. And the main character, Rachelle. I loved her from the start because come on, what little kid would show trust a Foresthound? A stupid and brave one. And that’s the type of person she was. She made stupid decisions but she made them because she was brave enough to do so. Until the very end of the book, I was just like DAMN THIS GIRL IS AWESOME. It didn’t matter that she had insecurities or whatsoever. She just did what she did best, protecting people.

And then there’s Armand HAHAH. To be honest, I have no idea at the start if I should love or hate him. Because he could be an annoying jerk, but also a cute innocence. But my verdict at the end is ASDFGHJKLGHKLD. HOTNESS at its very maximum. HOTNESSS I TELL YOU.

I thank God that this book was a standalone, which meant that at the end, IT WAS THE END. You don’t have to wait for another book for the story to finish because it is done. And I love it, HANDS DOWN.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

2 Responses to “Review: Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge