DNF Review: Don’t Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom

Posted October 7, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

DNF Review: Don’t Ever Change by M. Beth BloomDon't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom
Published by HarperCollins on July 7th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: eARC
Pages: 368
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
One Star

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.
Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.
Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell, Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book was a hella disappointment, which is really really really sad because the story plot about this book was pretty amazing. A girl who needs to go out and experience her life more? Give it to me. Even the author’s writing was quite good. She knew how to bring out each of the emotions being portrayed in this book. And yet, I DNF-ed it, at 27%. I just… GAH. This book kinda brought my mood down, and that is horrible, because I love reading, and this book made me hate reading at that point of time.

I just couldn’t deal with the main character. She was just arrogant, self-absorbed and judgmental. She honestly criticizes everything and everyone that she sees. She looks upon herself as a very good writer, so when the teacher told her that her writings of some realistic fact was not enough, she threw her fit. But come on, seriously? She even constantly brings down her friends, SO. MANY. TIMES. If she were my best friend, I would have left her a long long time ago. She judges everyone. Her best friends, her sister, and even nine year old girls, who just want to have fun at the camp.

And yes, speaking of her being a camp counselor, she was horrible at it. From the start, till the end (yes, I skipped to the back to see if there were any character development) she was just plain….. arrogant. I don’t even know how to put it. She makes me wanna strangle her, HONESTLY. Or at least shake her awake from that dreamland of hers. She put down other writers, because she thinks that they could not possibly be as good as her. She was rude and immature at times, and even though she was apologetic at the end, she still thinks that she’s too good for everybody GAHHHH.

And then there’s the romance aspect. WHAT ROMANCE, HUH? WHAT ROMANCE? Because the romance in this book is so ridiculous that I wouldn’t even call it romance. She went out with one guy, and she automatically thinks she’s in love with him. The guy only wanted to hang out with her, but all she kept thinking about was having sex with this dude she just stumbled upon at a party. You know, I am honestly sick of books who ALWAYS talks about how the girls are the ones hankering for sex. I mean, stop making sex the FIRST thing these kids do when they get together. SERIOUSLY.

But anyway, I don’t know. This book has just gotten me so annoyed. I have nothing against the author. I just didn’t like the main character, and to me, main characters are everything, because they’re kinda the backbone to the whole story. The more shittier they are, even though you have a fucking amazing plot, the whole book will flop. I’m sorry.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge