Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

Posted August 25, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula StokesLiars, Inc. by Paula Stokes
Published by Harper Collins on March 24th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 368
Source: Library
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A dark and twisted psychological tale, which Kirkus Reviews called "captivating to the very end" in a starred review—perfect for fans of I Hunt Killers and Gone Girl.
Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money. So with the help of his friend Preston and his girlfriend, Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something, and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?
When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn't think twice about it. But then Preston never comes home. And the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead to Preston's body.
Terrifying clues that point to Max as the killer….

MY REVIEW

Immediate reaction after finishing this book?

YUP, that was how I felt. THAT PLOT TWIST THOUGH. It’s like, you’re like HOLY CRAP, I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING and then the next second (literally), you’re like WAIT, WHAT? A PLOT TWIST OF A PLOT TWIST?! *mindblown* Maybe it’s just me (but I highly doubt it), but this is definitely one of the most amazingly awesome freaking fantastic mystery book that I’ve ever read in 2015. Actually, I’m pretty sure it’s the best since like, FOREVER.

This book started off with one of the best scenes ever, which kinda leaves you hanging. Then it becomes a flashback as to what happened that led to that moment. Throughout the whole book, I decided to be my own personal detective and investigate the case together with Max. I am ashamed to say that I did not even suspect the real culprit. *hangs head in shame* But yes, this book actually brings you through it all, whatever clues that Max found. What I loved about this book was that it kept changing. One moment, you’ll think that a certain event happened, but then the next moment, another assumption arises. And in the midst of it all, you managed to see all the lies slowly unravelling.

Max was by far, one of the most innocent guy I’ve ever read about. Not innocent as in the not-guilty way, but more of, he’s nice. He is really nice, and he probably does not deserve all the horrible things that happened to him. With every turn of the pages of this book, I admit that I fall for him bit by bit. It’s hard not to. Even though he’s part of Liars, Inc., he is probably the most honest guy in the group. He never holds back, especially when he knows he’s not in the wrong. And I think that’s what made me love him.

If you’re looking for a good mystery book, you should probably start off with Liars, Inc. Go ahead and play detective. You’ll love this book, trust me.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge