Review: Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

Posted August 21, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie LuProdigy by Marie Lu
Published by Penguin on January 29th 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Dystopia
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 400
Source: Library
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne Star

The second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!
June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.
It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long. 
But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?
In this highly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Legend, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action. 
 

I actually was looking forward to this book ever since I read Legend, because hello, another dystopian books and I really loved the kind of rebel-ish acts. But anyway, that’s to say, I was quite disappointed by this book. I honestly preferred the first one better. This book was good in its own way, I guess. What made me disappointed were the characters. Specifically, Day.

I know, I know, he’s the hot one in the book. But truly, listen to me first. I never liked people who plays around, be it characters or real life. I’m fine if one could not make up their mind (so, yes, I’m actually okay with love triangles) but I absolutely hate it when someone second guess their feelings, especially when the other person did no such thing.

In this book, Day was quite the jerk, and the worst part is? June totally did not know this. He literally jumped back and forth about his feelings, and that annoyed me to the point where I almost did not read his POV. I do get that he’s feeling insecure, with the new Elector and stuffs, but come on. Also, I think that his redemption came WAY too easily. He dissed June, and went to sleep, and BAM the next day June apologises. Excuse me?
But anyway, I really hope the next book will be better. Also, I wanna read more about Anden. *smirks*

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge