Review: All We Left Behind by Ingrid Sundberg

Posted November 30, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: All We Left Behind by Ingrid SundbergAll We Left Behind by Ingrid Sundberg
Published by Simon Pulse on December 1st 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: eARC
Pages: 432
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne Star

For fans of Simone Elkeles and Courtney Summers, this haunting debut novel is about two teenagers battling their inner demons as they fall in love for the first time.
When Marion Taylor, the shy bookworm, meets sexy soccer captain Kurt Medford at a party, what seems like a sure thing quickly turns into a total mess. One moment they’re alone in the middle of a lake, igniting sparks of electricity. The next, they’re on dry land, pretending they’ve never met. But rather than the end, that night is the beginning of something real, terrifying, and completely unforgettable for them both.
As Marion and Kurt struggle to build a relationship from the fractured pieces of their pasts, every kiss they share uncovers memories both would rather keep buried. Marion desperately wants to trust Kurt and share the one secret she’s never told anyone—but some truths aren’t meant to be spoken out loud. Kurt is also still haunted by his mother’s death, by the people he hurt, and by the mistakes he can never take back.
Explosive together and hollow apart, Marion and Kurt seem totally wrong for each other—but could they turn out to be more right than they ever thought possible?

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I would say this book was intense, but that’s not the right word. Because I usually use the word intense to describe the sexual tension between two people. But in this case, the relationship wasn’t intense. Both main characters in this book are just bloody….. WOAH.

Humor me here, people, but is it just me or is there such thing as too overwhelming? I think some books can pull off that whole my-life-is-fucking-shit thing, with its BAM BOOM CRY SCREAM thingy. But some books just feel freaking overwhelming in that aspect. And no, I’m not trying to say that this book was horrible. Quite the contrary actually. I actually enjoyed it.

However, I find myself favoring one character over the other, and I know that’s not a bad thing but there’s just something about this other character that I have a love-hate relationship with. Marion. The female MC makes me feel all kinds of confused. She’s messed up. Okay, actually both characters have their own messed up past, which I actually find really weird, because come on, two messed up people falling in love? Nuuhhhh-uh. I mean, really. I find that super duper unrealistic. Anyway, back to Marion. She was the intense one in this book. I honestly don’t know how to feel about her. On one hand, I’m like girl, you’re strong. But on the other hand, I’ll be like Just cos you’re messed up, does not give you the right to act like a slut. I don’t know. And then there’s the fact that there’s too much problems. I get confused between Marion’s and Kurt’s problems. Like, there’s too much happening such that I’m just there, rubbing my forehead. GAH. 

So yeah. BUT I actually like Kurt and the story plot, hence the three stars. I actually look forward to reading Kurt’s story and I feel that he’s the one character that went through a whole lot of development, significant development in this book. I’m kinda disappointed that his problems were a bit downplayed, thanks to Marion’s bigger problems.

This whole book was written in two different perspectives – Marion and Kurt. And I do really like the whole story line, like about Kurt’s family stuffs and the sexual abuse in this whole story. Yep, I do like this book, and it had a satisfying ending. But. Marion makes me wanna bang my head against the wall.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge