Review: Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu

Posted September 17, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: Champion (Legend #3) by Marie LuChampion by Marie Lu
Published by Penguin on November 5th 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, SciFi
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 400
Source: Library
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.She is a Prodigy.Who will be Champion?   June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

I honestly do not know how to feel about this book, but honestly, I enjoyed this book better than the previous two. This book was so…… BOOM. HAHAH. That’s the only way I know how to explain it. The conclusion to this Legend trilogy ended with a freaking bang, and I have no idea how to feel about it.

This book was very fast-paced that I had trouble keeping up at times. Guns, politics and soldiers EVERY WHERE. Frankly, the first half of the book got me a little bit confused, especially with all the politics stuff going on. Too much politics, but it was necessary considering that a war is coming and the Republics needed help. This final book ventured into other countries and cities, with their advanced (dude, even advanced is an understatement. Look at Ross City) technologies. And everything was finally made clear (at least, to me) as to why United States of America was split into two.

The second part of this book was just WOAH. We finally see a whole group of people standing up for their country, including all the rebels. But what I loved about the whole book? TESS. That girl, man. From the previous book, I thought that she was one character that I would most likely hate, but that girl got some major character development, such that she actually became my favorite character in this book.

The relationship between Day and June is quite sad, especially since they’ve both been apart for so so long. It was heartbreaking to see both sides hesitant, and that the huge invisible elephant between them hasn’t yet disappeared. In this book, we actually see more of Day’s insecurities like never before. His heart was literally on his sleeve throughout the whole book, and it was refreshing, better than the unsure Day that was in the previous book.

Furthermore, June’s character was more mature in this book. I didn’t find her annoying. Instead, being the Princeps thingish made her more like her brother (I honestly miss Metias.) She was more strong-headed and did not let anyone push her around. She made up her mind pretty well too, instead of how she used to not be sure about where her loyalties lie.

In conclusion, I think this was one of the best ending to a series that I’ve ever read. But I still needed to rant about THAT ENDING so stick around if you’ve read the book HAHAH.

View Spoiler »
Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge