Review: Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu

Posted September 22, 2015 in review / 6 Comments

Review: Making Pretty by Corey Ann HayduMaking Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu
Published by Harper Collins on May 12th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: eARC
Pages: 368
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
One StarOne Star

Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, Making Pretty is a raw, romantic coming-of-age about the complexities of family, the boundaries of love, and the realities of growing up in a culture that prizes beauty above nearly anything else.
Montana and her older sister Arizona have always been a team, sticking together through their plastic surgeon dad's string of divorces—and his not-so-subtle belief that "surgical assists" can be an asset to any woman. But when Arizona comes home from college with a boob job, the rift between the sisters feels insurmountable.
As summer in New York City heats up and Montana and Arizona grow apart, Montana befriends wild, bold, 23-year-old Karissa, who encourages her to live in Technicolor and chase new experiences—like a cute boy in the park. Bernardo becomes a beautiful distraction, and he looks at Montana in the way she wants to be seen. For the first time, she understands how you can become both lost and found in somebody else. But when that love becomes everything, where does it leave the rest of her imperfect life?

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book was disappointing, truthfully. The blurb sounded pretty amazing. Two sisters, one of whom is finally breaking away from the other. But the whole story line was….. MEH. Disappointing is an understatement actually. The only part that I actually liked? The ending. It wasn’t really an ending, but it was satisfying. Other than that, I was honestly not interested in this book. I kept pausing here and there, trying to force myself to continue.

What I dislike about the book? Its characters. Practically ALL of them. Montana started out pretty horribly. She was whiny and she wanted so bad to be cool, that she came off as pathetic instead. Also, she was desperately trying to fit in throughout the whole book, that she had no backbone for herself. Every time she decided that she hated someone, a minute later she would be okay with that person again because she wanted that person to like her. NO, SERIOUSLY? I felt that she was just completely immature. And every time she said something really really pathetic, I rolled my eyes.

The whole story line seemed like it had no definite direction. Or maybe it did, but I was too annoyed to get it. The one character that I actually really hated, despised, wanna-drown-her is Karissa. I thought she was something special when I read the blurb. But first page into this book, and I knew that she was just trash. That girl is just something wrong. And you know what else I hated? I hated how every single page of this book was dripped with annoying sympathy for Karissa. Like I said, Montana didn’t know how to stand up for herself.

Smoke and booze were thrown in super casually in this book, and that made me annoyed too, because that’s not it. That’s not reality. That’s not what kids do everyday. I totally wanted to DNF this book, but I decided to hang on because of one factor: Bernardo.

But just when I think that he’s amazing, I realize that he is ALSO messed up. It’s fine, to have one messed up character. But practically ALL of them? Are you kidding me? What is this book supposed to be, a pity book? But really, what made this book awful was Montana. She was drowning in desperation throughout the whole book, that I cringed every single time I come to scenes where her desperation was obvious.

I’m sorry. I’m not slamming the author. I just wish there was more in-depth to the book, rather than it be about someone who is simply pathetic. I’m sorry.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

6 Responses to “Review: Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu”

  1. Oh my god, I can’t with annoying characters. This is why I hate reading YA contemporaries, because most characters are super immature. Plus, if they wanted to market the book as “For fans of Rainbow Rowell”, it has to deliver! Love the review, so honest! ;D

    Btw, I squealed when I saw my button your blogroll, and I love the new blog look! Thank you, girlieeee *kisses*
    Blessie (Mischievous Reads) recently posted…TOP TEN TUESDAY: My Pumpkin Spice Latte TBRMy Profile

  2. Such a shame you didn’t like this one. I almost requested a copy but then bailed out, and I don’t think I regret it. I am a character driven reader so if I am not liking the characters I basically can’t enjoy the story. I am glad there was something good about it though – so props tot he ending… just a shame about the rest. Ooh and I am a teenager myself – there is more to life than drinking and all that so I hate when they center the teenager lifestyle around that.
    Olivia Roach recently posted…Noble Conflict (Mini Review) & Lend Your Hand!My Profile

  3. I’m literally still laughing at how you want to drown the character Karissa lmao. I’ve heard really mixed things about this book. I was going to pick it up, but the synopsis didn’t stand out to me, so luckily I decided to skip it. I like when my characters are pretty messed up, but I need them to have substance, to have a reason for it you know. MEH.
    Tika recently posted…Dream Things True DNF Review — TBBA Termination LetterMy Profile

    • YES, EXACTLY. I want the characters to have a reason to be messed up, not because they just are. And oh my God, YES Karissa was super annoying till the end of the book. Ugh, she’s even worse than all the villains I’ve read about -.- HAHA.

      Anw, thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge