Review: Off The Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

Posted April 1, 2016 in review / 0 Comments

Review: Off The Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van LeerOff the Page by Jodi Picoult
Published by Ember on May 19th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 356
Reading Challenges: #RockMyTBR Challenge Source: Library
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

If you think Between The Lines was amazing, then you should definitely read its sequel that is Off The Page. To be honest, Between The Lines felt so fairytale-like that I expected to feel the same thing about Off The Page. However, this book caught me off guard when I realized that it’s so much more realistic and raw, and at times, heartbreaking than the previous book. And it actually makes sense anyway, since Off The Page was supposed to be about how Oliver was adjusting with the real world.

Most people said that you could probably read this book as a standalone, but I definitely would encourage you to read Between The Lines first, as this book not only talks about Oliver and Delilah, but also the side characters. And that kinda means that you have to get to know the side characters beforehand, like for instance, who Edgar was.

Like I said, Off The Page was what happened after the happily ever after. Delilah did manage to bring her Prince Charming out from a book and into the real world, but it doesn’t end there. It took a whole lot of hard work for Oliver to eventually navigate his way around the real world. It was especially funny to read about it, as there were some cringe-worthy moments, which definitely made Oliver all the less charming.

It wasn’t as pleasant as Between The Lines, but it definitely wasn’t bad either. I have to admit that I do find Delilah annoying at times, especially the way she was super protective over Oliver. It was kinda weird how she went from this mousy booknerd, to a somewhat arrogant girl who parades around her perfect boyfriend. But what I do enjoy was the little moments between Edgar and the other fairy tale characters. We did get to see a different side of them, and since this is happily ever after, well, reality did set in. And those made up the heartbreaks and sadness in this book.

I love that Jodi Picoult and her daughter continued with this book, as it shows us that happily ever after was probably just a façade in the real world, no matter how much we wanted to believe otherwise.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge