Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Posted June 14, 2016 in review / 0 Comments

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle LaureThis Raging Light by Estelle Laure
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on December 22nd 2015
Genres: Romance
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 288
Source: Library
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren.

Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.” Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

LOOOK AT THAT COVER OMG OMG OMG. Yesh, I definitely chose this book to read next because of the cover. But this book, I never expected it to be this good. I’m seriously in love with it right now. Like, hi, new favorite book? HELL YES.

This Raging Light pulled on all my emotional strings since the first ever page. Lucille Bennett, the MC, woke up one day and realized that her mother isn’t ever going to come home, leaving her to take care of her little sister, and practically everything. The bills started coming in, food started depleting, but what’s on Lucille’s mind? Digby Jones. Yeah, I’m sure you’re rolling your eyes at the fact that she’s in love in the middle of a crisis. But here’s the thing, people don’t choose when to fall in love, and I like that the author added in romance into this book, because it helped things along.

And here’s an important tidbit: This Raging Light didn’t focus solely on the romance. It focuses on Lucille, on the way she changed. The way she took things in stride, and well, the way she forgives. I love her character since the very start, because she took charge. She didn’t make a face, or stomp her foot. She just took charge and did what needed to be done. She broke my heart a million times, and oh, you have no idea how angry I was at the mother for leaving.

What I loved most about this book was Wren and Lucille’s relationship. Wren is the little sister, by the way. I love that the author showed how Wren developed into a very perceptive 10-year-old kid, and it shows that yeah, kids do pay attention, and sometimes they know more than us adults do. I love the relationship between them, the strong bond that never seemed to fade away throughout the whole book, and instead it became stronger.

This Raging Lights left me in a puddle of my own tears, and I couldn’t leave the last page. I couldn’t put down this book. I wanted more of Lucille, I needed more, and in my own way, I became attached to her story. This was the kind of book that I’ll always love, the kind that makes you care deeply for its character. If you love books that tug at your heartstrings, then you should definitely read this book.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge