Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Posted October 5, 2015 in review / 2 Comments

Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara RaaschSnow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
Published by Harper Collins on October 14th 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 448
Source: Library
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A striking fantasy tale of dark magic, dangerous politics, and discovering your true self—perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses.
Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now the Winterians' only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter's magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.
Orphaned as an infant during Winter's defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, Winter's future king—she would do anything to help Winter rise to power again.
So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter's magic, Meira decides to go after it herself—only to find herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics—and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

WOW. This book was…. mmmm, WOW. HAHA. This book kinda went above my expectations, because before reading it, I heard several bad reviews about it, so I dived into it, not sure if I would like it. BUT I DID. HAHA. I didn’t LOVE LOVE it, but I like it very very very much.

From the start, I knew that I would absolutely love Meira. She’s cocky, temperamental and also kickass, with that chakram of hers. Her cockiness definitely got her into trouble too many times, but what I loved was her temper and that fiery determination in her. That was what I was looking forward to, throughout this whole book. She has that pumping rush of anger, that makes me want to fight alongside her too. This book was intense, especially the last few scenes.

I have to admit, some parts were pretty draggy, especially the time it took for Meira to act out, to finally fight for them all (you’ll know what I’m talking about when you read it HEHE), but yeah. Those parts kinda got me a little bit frustrated, but other than that? NAHHH.

Some people might say that there was a love triangle in this book, but I shall settle your fears but saying that NOPE, no love triangles, in my opinion. Yes, there were two different guys. And yes, they both liked her. But there weren’t any hesitation on Meira’s part. It took her awhile, but she knew who she liked, in the end. No flirting on both sides, whatnot. ACTUALLY, Meira didn’t flirt at all. Like I said, she was pretty kickass-ish 😉

I definitely can’t wait to dive into the next book, especially knowing that things will get even more intense. OHHHH. Before I end, do you wanna know what I ABSOLUTELY love about this whole trilogy? There’s seasons and non-seasons country. Which means, there’s Winter, Spring, Summer and Autumn. And these countries, well they have only one season. So, example, Winter has only snow and ice, and the people have white hair with pale features, etc. There’s also the non-seasons countries, where they have to endure all four seasons. TOO COOL HUH? SERIOUSLY, I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS WORLD. HAHA.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

2 Responses to “Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge