Review: The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1) by Sherry Thomas

Posted October 28, 2015 in review / 2 Comments

Review: The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1) by Sherry ThomasThe Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas
Published by HarperCollins on September 17th 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 449
Source: Library
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Magic, romance, and intrigue combine in The Burning Sky, the first book in the Elemental Trilogy, for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore.
It all began with a ruined elixir and a bolt of lightning.
Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she's been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of the Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.
Guided by his mother's visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

I fell in love with this book at the first page. And it’s not even the first chapter! It was more like a prologue?

This is the story of a girl who fooled a thousand boys, a boy who fooled an entire country, a partnership that would change the fate of realms, and a power to challenge the greatest tyrant the world had ever known.

Expect magic.

And that, my dear friends, was just a taste of the book. I love that “Expect magic” part, for some reason it got me excited HAHA. I think because I absolutely love Fantasy genres and seeing that phrase there makes me jump in anticipation, knowing JUST KNOWING that this book would be freaking amazing. To be honest, this book was one of the most amazing fantasy genres that I have read this year. I had been holding off on reading this book because I thought it would be too descriptive and after reading too much descriptive books in which the worlds were too complicated to understand, I kinda had doubts about this book. But like I said, first page in, BAM I LOVE THIS BOOK.

It got really amazing and intense soon. I have to admit that it was kinda slow at first because Iolanthe (I still have no idea how to pronounce her name) have not yet figured out that she is probably the greatest elemental mage, so there were some fumbling and mistakes here and there, as we read about her trying to accept her fate. I was like, He’s not lying, you blithering idiot. But that was justifiable because as readers, we of course know the plot, and a dear character in the book obviously did not. BUT ANYWAY. Despite the blithering idiot comment, I actually liked Iolanthe. She was smart, and pretty much an amazing girl. Woah, you should focus on her antics from Titus’ voice. He made her sound so…. WOW. HAHA.

And yes, Titus. The boy who fooled the whole world. And fooled them, he did. Titus was my favorite character in this book, despite the amount of times he actually was not favorable. I guess, yet again, because I am the reader, so I know his true intentions, and hence it was justified. I loved Titus’ scenes with his mother, or the thoughts he had pertaining to his mother. If there was anything I love love love in a book, it would be mother-child love.

This whole book was written in third-person perspectives, but it was alternating between Titus and Iolanthe. And the world building. OH MY GOD, THE WORLD IN THIS BOOK IS WOAAAAH. What I definitely LOVE was the Crucible (I honestly hope this was the right name. I don’t have the book with me now so I can’t check, hence if I got it wrong, please let me know). You have no idea what is that? It is basically like DIVING into a book. Literally any book, any story, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White. SERIOUSLY.

YEP, I should’ve gotten the second book from the library as well.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

2 Responses to “Review: The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1) by Sherry Thomas”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge