Review: Very In Pieces by Megan Frazer Blakemore

Posted September 28, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: Very In Pieces by Megan Frazer BlakemoreVery in Pieces by Megan Frazer Blakemore
Published by HarperCollins on September 29th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Format: eARC
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne Star

In this coming-of-age novel perfect for fans of Susane Colasanti and Jandy Nelson, a straight-A student in a family of free-spirited artists must face the hard truths about those she loves most.
Very Sayles-Woodruff could find the value of x with her eyes closed . . . but interpreting her mother's renowned paintings or her famous grandmother's poems don't come as easily. Even her younger sister, Ramona, has the same artistic leanings as the rest of their family. Very has always been the dependable, responsible one—until her grandmother becomes terminally ill, causing all of the pieces of Very's once-structured life to come crashing down. Now she's cast aside her steady boyfriend and started an unexpected fling with Dominic, a rebellious art student with a bad reputation.
Things at home have also taken a turn. Very's mother drinks all day, her father is never around, and Ramona is constantly skipping school. And that's when the sculpture appears. Out of nowhere, a bottle cap design starts climbing up the stucco walls of the Sayles-Woodruff house, mysteriously growing by the day. With her grandmother nearing death and things heating up with Dominic, Very also has to confront the fact that the person behind the sculpture is struggling more than she could have imagined.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

UMM. HAHA. Hmmmm. How do I put this in a good way? Okay. *takes a deep breath* This book was…. OKAY. Like, MEH. Sigh, I really do not like writing these types of review. Okay, basically I was not impressed with this book. I’m not sure if I’m the only one, so if you feel the same way, hit me up okay? I like this book, but I was not impressed.

Reasons why I was not impressed? There was no substance in the book. I felt like there was no purpose, and each of the characters felt disconnected, especially Very. I really liked Very at the start. There was potential in here. The good girl finally breaks out of her comfort zone. But I felt that she didn’t really do much. Very just kept stressing and worrying and I could not get what the author was trying to portray with her character. She felt quite awkward at times, and also, there was the part about her relationship, that I felt the author could have ended it in the start. It felt like she was holding on to something she didn’t really like, but she still didn’t want to let go.

This book was draggy too. My God, it was really draggy that it took me quite a while to read it. I lost interest somewhere at the start. I felt that some parts were quite unnecessary and repetitive, and some parts are just plain confusing.

The only part that kept me going was the sister. Ramona. Now, her story was what I wanted to read about. I wanted to know how she felt, how she thinks, and I find myself interested in her. She was the one character that connected to me. The way she got so cut off from the world to deal with her pain, the way she immersed herself in art.

This book got me really really disappointed. Honestly.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge