Review: What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass

Posted December 8, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis BassWhat's Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass
Published by HarperCollins on December 29th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Format: eARC
Pages: 304
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From Alexis Bass, author of Love and Other Theories, comes her heartbreakingly beautiful second novel, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.
A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk, killed his best friend, and paralyzed his girlfriend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.
Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again—whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.
A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Warning: You will need a box of tissues for this book.

But no, I’m serious. This book is the kind of book that would make you sit in a corner of the room, and silently sob your heart out.

I absolutely love love this book because it showed the point of view, not from the one at wrong, but from the people who are actually affected by it. Mainly, the family. The sibling. That’s who Amanda was. Her brother was in prison for drink-driving, which resulted in killing one of the nicest person in town, Grace. Remorse? It seemed like Jonathan doesn’t have that emotion in him. Or if he did, he’s not showing them to anyone anytime soon.

Reading this book was a thousand shades of heartbreaking. The horrible part about this book is seeing Amanda coming to terms with the fact that it’s okay for her to not be okay. Amanda’s character was one of a kind. Usually, this type of character would have a tinge of self-pity with them, everywhere they go. But with Amanda, it honestly feels like she really doesn’t think that she has a right to be sad, to cry.

And then there’s the part where her brother not only ruined another girl’s life and killed another girl. He also technically ruined Amanda’s love life with Henry, whose sister was injured in the car crash too. In this book, we saw how Henry and Amanda had to discuss this huuuge elephant between them if they ever want to be together.

The one teeeny part that I’m a little bit not okay with is the cheating part. But I don’t hate this book because of it, because in this book, the characters faced the consequences, and you can actually feel that there are sorry about it. And I guess that’s okay? HAHAHAHAH. But yes, this book will make you cry.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge