SST August: Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow | Review+Giveaway

Posted August 7, 2016 in review / 0 Comments

SST August: Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow | Review+GiveawayGirl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Published by Delacorte Press on August 30th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
Format: eARC
Pages: 416
Source: NetGalley
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The thick glass of a mason jar cuts deep, and the pain washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.   A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book left me in pieces. (HAHA did you see what I did there? Girl in Pieces? Left me in pieces? Okay, I’m lame.)

But truly, this book tore me up and it took me awhile to recover from it. In fact, I wrote this review 385 days after reading this book, because I was seriously invested in it. This book is mine. This book is all me, and I can relate to it, and this is me. Get it? No? HAHA I’m sorry.

Girl In Pieces was about a girl who went through so much that she’s broken. And it took her awhile, a really long while before realizing that she can actually be saved, be happy. This book was raw and gritty and I relate to it so damn much. It doesn’t shy away from the real truth behind self-harm, and it gives us the worst case scenarios. Girl In Pieces showed us the exclusive “behind-the-scenes” of a cutter’s life.

Charlie is by far, the best character I’ve ever read about. She was unique, real and hurting. She went through loads of crap and I never thought she would ever be herself. From abandonment issues, to her best friend’s death, to sexual assault, Charlie relates to most of us in the way that she just kept taking and taking the blame, piling it on top of her.

I was crushed, and sobbing the moment I finished reading this book, and it wasn’t this book was horrible. This book is the most beautiful, real book I’ve ever read in awhile, guys.

But the fucked up part is once you start self-harming, you can never not be a creepy freak, because your whole body is now a scarred and charred battlefield and nobody likes that on a girl, nobody will love that, and so all of us, every one, is screwed, inside and out. Wash, rinse, fucking repeat.

If you or someone you know is struggling and needs help, please consider contacting:
Crisis Text Line: Text START to 741-741
National Suicide Prevention Hotline: 1-800-273-8255
To Write Love on Her Arms: https://twloha.com/find-help/local-resources/
National Runaway Hotline: 1-800-621-4000

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Kathleen Glasgow

Kathleen Glasgow lives in Tucson, Arizona. She writes for the radio show The Writer’s Almanac and can probably provide you with some interesting anecdotes about historical literary figures if you asked nicely. You can find out more about Kathleen by following her on Twitter: @kathglasgow, Instagram, @misskathleenglasgow (where she posts about sunsets, depression, spirit circles, and books) or her website: kathleenglasgowbooks.com.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge