Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie E. Hall

Posted August 31, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie E. HallThe Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Published by Penguin on January 13th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Romance
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 336
Source: Library
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter
Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.
To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with. 

OHHHH I just KNEW that this book would be freaking fantastic.

I really love conspiracy theories, and whatnot. So when I heard that this book has several of them, including the New World Order, I was like OMGOMGOMG THAT NEED. And I wasn’t disappointed. Maggie E. Hall knew her stuffs while she was writing this book. Everything just made sense, even though at the back of your mind, you’re just like DUDE, THIS IS FICTION. One of the families was responsible for JFK’s assassination? I KNEW IT. HAHA. I know most people would roll their eyes, and be like WHUUUUT. But I am in love with history and conspiracy theories, and World Wars, so excuse me while I fangirl over this book.

Like I said, Maggie E. Hall knew what she was writing about so she doesn’t botch up the facts. But the thing is, this book is a little bit like The Da Vinci Code, except even better and more interesting. (Fact: I despise the Da Vinci Code.) But Maggie has managed to twist and turn the facts, such that I’m interested. I’m interested to know WHO is Alexander The Great, and Napoleon (I only know that he’s short HAHAHAHA) and literally everything.

The whole book was quite fast-paced, such that I didn’t even realize that I was finishing the book. And you just CANNOT STOP READING. Because each chapter ends in a cliffhanger, such that both you and the MC be like WHAT.

And Avery, I really do love Avery. She is like the unlikely heroine, and if you asked me if there was a love triangle in this book, I would say NO because there really isn’t. You will know from the start who she will fall for, and I love her for it. She didn’t let herself second-guess her choice, though she did admire the other guy (hey, she’s not blind, and he is hot). HAHA. She’s smart, and resilient too. She’s always thinking, even when she’s in danger, and that actually helps her think of a solution out. She doesn’t really depend on guys to be her knight in shining armor, even though she did have that potential to be the maiden in distress.

I am pretty much looking forward to the next book. WHEN WILL YOU BE HERE, 2016?

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge