Review: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Posted May 22, 2015 in review / 0 Comments

Review: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian KatcherThe Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher
Published by HarperCollins on May 19th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: eARC
Pages: 336
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon - B&N - Book Depository
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher's hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention.
When Ana Watson's brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents.
In her desperation, she's forced to enlist the last person she'd ever want to spend time with—slacker Zak Duquette—to help find her brother before morning comes.
But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more. . . .

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book, damn it I should prolly write a draft review everytime I end a book because I tend to forget what I wanted to say everytime I get to use the laptop. But anyway, let me think for a second. AHA. This book was all kinds of crazy. REALLY. No kidding. Ana was crazy. Zak was crazy and the little brother, Clayton? God, I love that little kid. In this book, both Ana and Zak are two different people. Let me emphasize on the different. Ana is used to being in control of her life, and Zak, well, he’s more of a freedom kind of guy. So when Zak had to skip his Washingcon sci-fi event (which I so totally want to go one day!) for some lame quiz bowl competition, he was annoyed. And Ana was even more annoyed because she sees Zak as some lowly loser who does not take anything seriously. THEN CLAYTON AH. Hahaha, in the middle of the quiz bowl, Clayton actually went to the Washingcon, which is so awesome for him. But he made Ana panic. So both Ana and Zak had to chase him down, before both the teacher and Ana’s parents realised that Clayton was gone.

Here’s the thing. I totally HATED Ana at the start. She was stuck-up, judgemental and just plain rude. Granted, she made up for her crappy attitude to Zak in the end, but REALLY, that kind of attitude made it all so bad. I ALMOST wanted to DNF the book, but I was amused by Zak. Zak is amazing. Even though he can sense the girl’s hatred for him, he actually still chased after her, trying to make her like him, which is totally cute. AND COME ON, dude got beaten up a million times in the book for Ana’s mistake, that I’m surprised he didn’t die or something HAHA.

Though, what I totally loved about the book is the author’s correct interpretation of what actually happens at a Convention, be it BookCon, Comic Con, etc. (Say, author, have you been to one before?) Because really, the amount of detailed information would either mean that this author took a whole load of effort into researching about conventions, or he actually went to one. And I am honestly impressed.

If I could recommend this book, honestly, I would recommend it to geeks. Why geeks? Because even if they don’t like to read, I have a feeling that they will actually enjoy this type of books. So, I should prolly let my boyfriend read this book eh? HAHA.

Get Once Upon A Story in your inbox!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We won't spam!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge